Cyprus imposes quarantine and double test requirements on travelers from the Netherlands, Poland and Iceland


Citizens of the Netherlands, Poland, Iceland as well as those of Oman will be subject to the double testing requirement as well as quarantine rules when considering entering Cyprus, as the authorities of the latter placed these territories in the red category, which includes countries that have reported high infection rates with COVID-19 in the past two weeks.

In addition, entry rules have been tightened even for travelers from South Korea and Lichtenstein, the two countries having moved from the green box, which includes countries considered safe based on their epidemiological situation, to orange category, which includes medium-risk territories, SchengenVisaInfo. reports .com.

While the Czech Republic was added to the Amber Box two weeks ago, this week arrivals from Cyprus were added to Czechia’s dangerous list, following an increase in positive cases with COVID-19 . In addition, like Cyprus, the Czech Republic has tightened entry rules for arrivals in Poland and the Netherlands.

However, Cypriot authorities reiterate that all people fully vaccinated against COVID-19, those who have recovered from the virus and all holders of EU COVID-19 digital certificates are exempt from these entry rules.

“They were vaccinated either with one of the vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (Pfizer / BioNTech, AstraZeneca, Moderna, Janssen), or with the Sputnik V vaccine, or with the Sinopharm vaccine (BBIBP COVID-19) , or with the Sinovac vaccine, and have completed their vaccination program “, the press release explains the rules for vaccinated travelers.

Those who have been fully vaccinated against COVID-19 can visit the country 14 days after receiving the last vaccine.

In addition, regardless of their country of origin or vaccination status, all passengers are required to present a completed entry form 48 hours before traveling to Cyprus.

Otherwise, for unvaccinated and unhealed travelers, entry restrictions apply based on their country of origin.

Currently, the red category includes the following countries:

  • EU Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland
  • Micro-states: San Marino
  • Schengen area countries: Switzerland, Iceland
  • Third country : Egypt, Armenia, Georgia, United States of America, United Kingdom, Israel, Canada, Belarus, Lebanon, Oman, Ukraine, Russia, Serbia, Singapore

In addition, the entry rules that apply to unvaccinated and unrecovered arrivals from these countries include:

  • Pass a PCR test 72 hours before traveling to Cyprus
  • Self-isolate for 72 hours after entering Cyprus
  • End quarantine by providing a self-purchased test no earlier than the third day of their stay

The amber box includes the following countries:

  • EU Member States: France, Denmark, Greece, Spain, Portugal, Sweden, Czech Republic
  • Micro-states: Andorra, Monaco
  • Schengen area countries: Lichtenstein, Norway
  • Third country : Australia, Japan, Qatar, China (including Hong Kong and Macao), Bahrain, South Korea, Uruguay, Rwanda, Chile

The entry rules that apply to these travelers include performing a PCR test 72 hours before traveling to Cyprus, in addition to the completed entry form.

However, no entry rule applies to travelers from countries in the green box, which consists of:

  • EU Member States: Italy, Malta
  • Micro-states: Vatican City
  • Third country : United Arab Emirates, Jordan, Kuwait, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia

Currently, data from the World Health Organization (WHO) shows that 97 people have recently been infected with COVID-19 in Cyprus, and one death related to complications from the virus has been reported.


About Author

Leave A Reply