Cyprus makes negative PCR test result mandatory for all arrivals



All passengers, regardless of their vaccination status, will be required to show a negative COVID-19 PCR test result no later than 48 hours after arrival in Cyprus, the latter’s government said.

Such a move comes in response to the rapid spread of the Omicron variant which has affected many European and global countries so far, reports

According to the Cypriot authorities, the decision will be applied to all travelers over the age of 12, regardless of their country of origin and will be maintained from January 4 to 15.

Since the start of the COVID-19 epidemic, a total of 154,926 people have tested positive for the coronavirus in Cyprus, while 630 people have lost their lives due to the virus during the same period based on data provided by the World Health Organization (WHO).

The same source shows that Cyprus has recorded more than 8,100 cases of COVID-19 infection and seven deaths in the past seven days.

In this regard, previously the Minister of Health, Michalis Hadjipantelas, stressed that “Epidemiological indicators have deteriorated rapidly … with the possibility of an increase in hospital admissions”, indicating that the country‘s authorities would tighten entry rules in order to keep the epidemiological situation under control.

Current rules imposed by the Cypriot government mean that travelers included in the green list, which consists of territories considered epidemiologically safe, are also required to show a negative COVID-19 test result upon arrival in that country.

In order to stop the spread of the virus, Cypriot authorities have followed the lead of other EU countries by categorizing other territories into green, orange and red groups, taking into account the rate of COVID- infection. 19 that they contain.

Travelers in the Amber Box, which consists of countries at medium risk for COVID-19, were required to take a PCR test within 72 hours of departure and hold certificates proving they tested negative for the virus.

However, recent changes require all passengers to carry a negative 48 hour PCR test result.

Regarding the Red List, reported that all of the following countries in the European Union and third countries are placed on this list after recently reporting high rates of COVID-19 infection.

  • EU countries: Austria, Bulgaria, Belgium, France, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Spain, Italy, Ireland, Croatia, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Malta, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia, Portugal, Sweden, Slovenia, Czech Republic and Finland
  • Micro-states: Monaco, Andorra, San Marino, Vatican City State
  • Countries associated with Schengen: Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Iceland, Norway
  • Third country : Armenia, Argentina, Georgia, Chile, United Kingdom, United States of America, Jordan, Belarus, Canada, Lebanon, Egypt, South Korea, Oman, Peru, Ukraine, Serbia, Russia.

European countries reported high rates of infection with the Omicron variant last week, while on Friday Cypriot authorities recorded a record 5,048 cases of coronavirus infection, many of which are caused by the Omicron variant.



About Author

Comments are closed.