Czechia places Balearic Islands, Portugal and Cyprus on red list – tightens entry rules


From July 12, Portugal, Cyprus and the Spanish Balearic Islands will be placed on the red list of countries due to the coronavirus situation on their territory, the Czech authorities have announced.

The Czech Health Ministry also reiterated that since July 1 the same rules have been applied to travelers in the red and dark red categories, reports

People returning from these countries must complete an arrival form before reaching the country and perform an antigen or PCR test. Upon arrival, they should self-quarantine and undergo a PCR or rapid antigen test no earlier than the fifth day of arrival but no later than the 14th.e day.

“In the case of a trip to the Czech Republic by individual transport, it is not necessary to take a test before the start of the trip, but it is compulsory to undergo a PCR test no earlier than the fifth day and at the later on the 14th day. after entering the territory of the Czech Republic. Self-isolation is required until the result. the press release issued by the ministry reads.

Based on data available from the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), the updated list includes new green box countries such as Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Canada, Kosovo and Latvia.

Low risk countries or green countries include Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Iceland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Hungary, Malta, Germany, Norway, Poland, Austria, San Marino, Romania, Greece, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Vatican City State and the Spanish region of Madeira.

Third countries on the green list are Australia, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Korea, Canada, Lebanon, Macao, New Zealand, Singapore, United States, Thailand, Albania, Serbia, North Macedonia and Taiwan.

On the other hand, the orange countries newly added to the list are Andorra, Ireland, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands and the Azores.

Travelers arriving from the green and orange categories are required to complete an arrival form and provide a rapid PCR or antigen test no earlier than five days before reaching the country.

Fully vaccinated travelers reaching the country 14 days after being fully vaccinated with a one- or two-shot COVID vaccine, as well as those who have recovered from the virus, are exempt from quarantine and testing requirements provided they present a arrival form.

The institution advises against travel to countries in the black category due to an extreme risk of infection with coronavirus mutations. This category includes Botswana, Brazil, India, South Africa, Colombia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Paraguay, Peru, Russia, Swaziland / Eswatini , Tanzania (including Zanzibar and Pemba), Tunisia, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

As previously reported, Czech authorities have been imposing tests and quarantine requirements on Spaniards since July 4. The Spanish Balearic Islands were then classified in the orange category, being considered a territory at medium risk.

According to data from the World Health Organization (WHO), in the past 24 hours, Portugal has reported six deaths linked to the implications of COVID-19 and 3,162 positive cases of infection. No deaths have been recorded in Cyprus either, but 960 people have been infected with the coronavirus, WHO data reveals.


About Author

Leave A Reply