EU nationals will have to wear a mask for an additional month when flying to the United States, authorities announce


European citizens and all other passengers traveling to the United States will be required to continue wearing face masks on planes to the United States, as the country has extended the restriction for another month.

The United States Transportation Security Administration (TSA) has announced an extension of the federal mask mandate until April 18, following the recommendation of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), reports

“This revised framework will be based on COVID-19 community levels, the risk of new variants, national data and the latest scientific findings. We will publicly communicate all updates if and/or when they change,” said an administration official.

Although the majority of US states are easing their restrictions on indoor masks, the requirement for a face mask in indoor spaces will remain in effect in three US states – Hawaii, Oregon and Washington, with the latter two planning to open them soon, while the measures in Aloha State could take until March 26 to be lifted.

While the majority of EU member states have lifted their restrictions on US travellers, the US government continues to advise against non-essential travel to the 27-nation bloc, despite easing measures on the latter.

According to data from the US Centers for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC), all European countries, including attractive tourist destinations such as France, Spain and Portugal, currently have a “level four” advisory: not to travel”. This advisory level represents the strictest restrictions on inbound and outbound travellers. Specifically, this level means that unvaccinated and unrecovered travelers are advised against non-essential travel, indicating that tourism is not encouraged at this stage.

As the United States continues to impose stricter coronavirus entry rules, European countries are opening their borders to travelers, especially those who are fully vaccinated.

Recently, Hungary and Ireland abolished their entry rules for travellers, exempting them from the requirement to present a valid vaccination, recovery or COVID-19 test certificate, in addition to being freed from restrictions national COVID-19 regulations, which may include curfew and alcohol consumption. time.

Except for Hungary and Ireland, Iceland, Norway and Slovenia have also lifted their entry rules and allowed everyone to enter, even those who are not vaccinated against the virus. virus.

Moreover, even countries with the strictest rules, such as Austria, have relaxed its domestic restrictions. As of March 5, travelers will no longer be required to follow protective measures against COVID-19, with the exception of wearing FFP2 masks when accessing public transport and essential shops, which will be the only measure that will remain in place until further notice.

Other countries, such as Germany and France, are also planning to relax their rules, with the French government announcing that it will partially abolish the requirement for vaccine passports on March 14. Opening doors to internationals at this stage is handy for tourist destinations such as France, Portugal, Greece, Italy and Spain, as it can set the tone for a successful summer season.


About Author

Comments are closed.