Heathrow and Gatwick: all Red List countries and their travel rules after major overhaul


Many travelers will have been relieved yesterday as the new rules for going abroad took effect at 4 a.m.

The government has announced that the traffic light system will be completely phased out on September 17.

This major overhaul of Covid-19 travel restrictions in England is expected to make travel easier, with Airlines UK saying it will make travel abroad easier and cheaper.

READ MORE:Heathrow and Gatwick: latest travel advice for Portugal, France, Italy and Cyprus as orange list is removed

Now, the three-tier travel system has been replaced with a red list and then a category of low-risk destinations instead of green and amber lists.

Because most fully vaccinated travelers arriving from low risk countries will no longer have to be tested before leaving for the UK, it really is the red list that needs to be considered.

What are the current red list rules?

Those coming from redlisted destinations still have to pay to self-quarantine in a government-approved hotel for 10 days, at the cost of £ 2,285 for an adult.

These countries include Brazil, Mexico, the Philippines, and South Africa.

Only UK or Irish nationals, or UK residents, are allowed to enter the UK if they have been in a red country within the previous 10 days.

All travelers to all destinations – except children under five – will still have to pay for a PCR test two days after arrival.

But fully vaccinated people will no longer need to take a pre-departure lateral flow test or (from the end of October) an expensive post-arrival PCR test if they arrive from a country not on the red list.

It should be noted that wherever they go, people who do not have a double bite will need a pre-departure test and a PCR test on days two and eight after their return, and will need to self-help. isolate for 10 days at home.

Which countries are currently on the red list?

The red list is expected to be updated later this week, while the government may also announce additions to the list of countries whose vaccination certificates are recognized by the UK.

But for now, the red list is as follows:

The brilliant new newsletter from MyLondon The 12 is packed with news, views, features and opinions from all over the city.

Each day we will send you a free email around noon with 12 stories to keep you entertained, informed and uplifted. It’s the perfect read for lunch.

The MyLondon team tells London stories to Londoners. Our 45 journalists cover all the news you need – from town hall to your local streets.

Never miss a moment by signing up for The 12 newsletter here.

Eight countries were actually moved to the low risk group of destinations in the last announcement. These include Bangladesh, Egypt, Kenya, Maldives, Oman, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Turkey.

Want more news? Sign up for FREE My London newsletters here .

Source link


About Author

Leave A Reply