Laser run talent flies to Portugal


The Free State Lazerrun team is from left, in front: Ellé Cloete (12), Wian Wagenaar (10), Waldo Bosh (10), Reynhardt van Zyl (10), Lané van Rooyen (16) and Santine van der Merwe (13 ); second row: Camilyn Parkin (13), Chélyn Parkin (10), Mika-Leigh Strydom (13), Munay Uys (10), Dewald van Rooyen, Marnu Uys (10), Marko Bosh and Reynaldo Uys; third row: Leana Esterhuizen, Lena van Rooyen and Gail Potgieter; back: Danielle Joubert (17), Ezeth Esterhuizen (15), Danny Pienaar (14), Willem Bosh (15), Harnu Krause (16) and Jannes Krause (14). Amelia Vincent (14) was denied by toe die foto geneem is denied.

Two young athletes from Bloemfontein, Munay Uys (10) and Danielle Joubert (17), are the golden girls of the Free State since they are now South African champions in biathle, triathle and laser run.

This comes just before the announcement of the South African lazer run team that will compete in the world championship.

In this sport, athletes must run a course and shoot a target with a laser gun.

The Free State team put in stunning performances at the South African Championship, which was held on June 25 in Pretoria.

The day’s events kicked off with the U11 races.

Wian Wagenaar of Gray College (Elementary) won the first bronze medal of the day for Free State. Munay of Meisieskool Oranje won gold in her race.

In the U15 girls, two athletes from Eunice School made it to the podium, Mika-Leigh Strydom winning gold and Camilyn Parkin bronze.

The Free State U17 gold medalists are Hanru Krause of Gray College (secondary) and Ezeth Esterhuizen of Oranje.

Hanru stamped his authority on the event by adding this gold in 2022 to his 2021 silver for the boys U17.

Danielle from Oranje put in a brilliant performance and won the U19 women’s race.

Gail Potgieter won silver in the senior women’s race and in the women’s masters race. Lena van Rooyen finished first and Leana Esterhuizen third.

Lané van Rooyen from Oranje and Gail Potgieter, who competes as a senior woman, also participated, both winning gold in the pentathlon and tetraathlon.

Athletes from the Free State who have been included to participate in the world championship, which will take place September 22-25 in Lisbon, Portugal, are: Munay Uys, Wian Wagenaar, Waldo Boch, Reynhardt van Zyl, Ellé Cloete, Mika-Leigh Strydom, Camilyn Parkin, Danny Pienaar, Reynaldo Uys, Jannes Krause, Ezerth Esterhuizen, Lané van Rooyen, Hanru Krause, Danielle Joubert, Lena van Rooyen, Leana Esterhuizen and Dewald van Rooyen.

Biathle, triathle and laser run are the three sports that are part of modern pentathlon.

For more information about involvement in the sport, contact the Free State Modern Pentathlon Association (FSMPA) by emailing [email protected]

The new laser run season will start in October.


About Author

Comments are closed.